Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter


state and local update


Senate Bill 1024 would exempt specially constructed motor vehicles used in organized racing or competitive events on a closed course from the identification device requirement for motor vehicles operated exclusively off-highway.

The AMA supports this bill, because it is critical that any new rules governing the sale and use of competition vehicles recognizes and preserves a rider’s ability to purchase, test, practice and train using these specialized vehicles.


The Colorado Wildlife Commission awarded several area off-highway vehicle trail grants, as part of an overall $4.23 million funding award to 60 trail projects across the state.
The bulk of the funding comes from OHV registrations in Colorado, with the federal Recreational Trails Program providing the remaining $273,000.


State ATV trails opened in May, but the mandatory training classes for youth riders were postponed because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The 75 classes typically train more than 2,500 10- to 15-year-olds annually to ride ATVs legally and more safely.

Anyone born after July 1, 1987, who is age 12 or older, must have a valid ATV Safety Certificate to operate on public lands, trails and frozen waters and when crossing road rights-of-way. Youth ages 10 to 15 must complete both an online class and a hands-on riding course taught by state-certified instructors, but those are now postponed. Riders born after July 1, 1987, who are age 16 and older are required to take only the online class to get their certificate, but are encouraged to take the “hands-on” course.


Motorcyclists 26 years old or older who have health insurance could ride without a helmet if Gov. Mike Parson (R) signs a bill passed by the legislature in May.

Parson vetoed a helmet bill in 2019 that would have allowed anyone 18 or older to ride without a helmet.

If signed by the governor, the law would be effective Aug. 28.


Residents of Coventry objected to an ordinance passed in April by the Select Board that opened all of the town’s roads to ATV use. The complainants said the change was made with little public input and no vote by the residents.

The ordinance allows ATVs on the streets between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. and restricts them to riding single-file at 35 mph or slower.

Meanwhile, in Newport, ATV riders gained access May 15 to a selection of public roads, as long as the riders are licensed and obey all traffic laws.


A portion of County Road W in Lincoln County is now open to ATV use.

On May 7, the Lincoln County Highway Committee voted to open a 2-mile portion of County Road W south of Merrill as a connector for ATV routes on County Road P and Town of Pine River roads Center and Big Eddy Roads.

Local officials said they hope the additional route will help draw more tourists to the area.