American Motorcyclist March 2018

Race Recaps


Gavin Faith Takes First Round Win

Photo By

Gavin Faith won the opening round of the 2018 AMSOIL Arenacross Championship on Jan. 6 at the Nutter Center on the Wright State University campus in Dayton, Ohio.

The two-time defending champion kicked off his season with two main event wins in the 250AX Class. In the first main, Chris Blose took the hole shot and early lead, with Jace Owen in second and Faith in third.

Faith made his way around Owen by the second lap and charged toward Blose. The two went bar-to-bar until Faith made the pass over Blose with Jacob Hayes in third.

In the second main event, Faith grabbed the hole shot with Blose in second and Travis Sewell in third. Sewell worked around Blose, while Hayes charged into third. Faith led all 15 laps for his second main event victory and first overall of the season. Sewell finished second, and Hayes was third.

In the AX Lites East Class, Garrett Marchbanks started off his Road to Supercross journey by taking the hole shot in the main event, ahead of Jerry Robin and Heath Harrison.

On the second lap, Marchbanks left the door open and Harrison quickly took the lead with Robin in tow. The battle between Harrison and Robin continued until lap 12 of 15, when the two made contact, which forced a mistake by Robin that allowed Harrison to take the lead, while Marchbanks followed.

On the last lap, a mistake by Harrison handed Marchbanks the win and his first main event victory. Harrison finished second, with Isaac Teasdale in third.


Jason Anderson Claims His Fourth 450SX Victory

Photo By Jeff Kardas

Jason Anderson is as fast as ever this season, making a statement as the fastest qualifier at Round 2 in Houston and winning his heat race for a perfect night.

The 250SX class had a new winner, Aaron Plessinger, who won in dramatic fashion. Coming from dead last in the first turn and working past every rider in the field to gain the lead, Plessinger was not to be beaten in Houston. With the win, he takes the points lead over Shane McElrath while Joey Savatgy sits third, 7 points behind Plessinger.


Josh Hill Takes Rounds 2 And 3

Photo By Kenton Knutson

Idaho’s Jimmy Jarrett, who won round one of the 2018 AMA National Championship Snow Bike Series, jumped into the lead in round two’s first moto on Jan. 19 in Eagle River, Wis. Pushed hard by Colton Davis and Keaton Ward, Jarrett crashed on lap three.

Davis held the lead for a bit, but was overtaken by Josh Hill and Ward. Hill used the same skills that once netted him AMA Supercross wins to take the moto, followed by a quickly-closing Jarrett, Davis and Ward.

In the second moto, Ward maintained control throughout, followed by Hill, Davis and Jarrett.

Hill took Round 2 (2-1), followed by Ward (4-1) and Davis (3-3).

South Dakota’s Shayna Lier ran away with both motos in the pro women’s class.

On Jan. 20, round three of the series was much like the second round.

Jarrett started well, but bobbled away the lead and, as he was fighting his way back to the front, his rear shock broke.

Hill rode smoothly, fast and smart to clench the overall, with a second moto win.